Ohio workers’ compensation premiums are due by the close of business on Thursday, February 28, 2013.
If you report your payroll and pay your premiums online at www.ohiobwc.com, the BWC will automatically calculate and deduct a 1% Go Green discount. You will not get the discount if you pay your premiums through the Ohio Business Gateway. You also will not get the discount if you have to pay the minimum premium of $50.
If you have elected coverage for yourself as a sole proprietor, partner in a partnership, or corporate officer incorporated as corporation, you must report a minimum of $405 per week ($10,530 for 6 months) as your payroll. The maximum you may report is $1,214 per week ($31,564 for 6 months). You must report the actual amount if it falls between the minimum and maximum.
Officers of a corporation must also report at least the minimum. Officers of Subchapter S corporations must report a reasonable amount of wages for the services they perform.
The payroll of all other employees must be reported as earned, without regard to any minimums or maximums. If you are not sure which workers are employees and which are independent contractors, consult the BWC, your accountant, your employment law attorney, or your TPA.